If your NetSuite account has multiple roles, you may want to set your most-used role as default.

How Default Roles Work

“Roles” in NetSuite are an efficient way to delegate specific permissions to Employees. Sometimes an employee needs multiple roles to fulfill all their duties in NetSuite. But switching back to their primary role every time a user logs in might be inconvenient. Thankfully, NetSuite has provided a way to make one role the default role. Once this is set, the user will enter into their default role automatically every time they log in to NetSuite.

Note:

This particular setting only applies to Employee roles. If you would like to choose a default role for new clients, you may want to check out the “DEFAULT ROLE FOR NEW CLIENTS” setting in General Preferences (Setup > Company > General Preferences).

How to Set a Default Role

Setting a default role is quite simple. We’ll divide the process into two steps.

Step 1: Navigate to the “View My Roles” Page

In the top right corner of NetSuite is the login information drop-down. Hovering over your Employee name, you should see several options. Click the “View My Roles” option. This will bring you to the page where a default role can be selected.

Step 2: Set a Default Role

On the “My Roles” page, a user can easily switch between roles, hide roles, or select a default role. To select a default role, hover over the button with three dots on your role of choice. You will then see the option to make the role default.

Once you have selected a default role, you will now be automatically signed in to that role whenever you log in to NetSuite.

Conclusion

These small NetSuite tips can make a big difference in your day to day NetSuite experience. Setting a default role can both save time and avoid confusion. We hope you find this NetSuite tip helpful!

0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x